Skip to content

Hearts on Fire

March 14, 2009

Hearts on Fire

I wanted it.

Desired it greatly.

Yearned for its coming.

But when it did come

I fought, resisted,

ran, hid away

I said, “Go home!”

I didn’t know

the fire of God could be more

than a gentle glow

or a cozy consolation.

I didn’t know

it could come

as a blaze.

a wildfire

uncontrolled,

searing my soul,

chasing my old ways,

smoking them out.

only when I stopped running,

gave up the chase,

surrendered,

did I know the fire’s flaming

as consolation and joy.

only then

could I welcome

the One whose fire

I had long sought.

Joyce Rupp

Joyce Rupp, May I Have This Dance: An Invitation to Faith Prayer Throughout the Year, [Notre Dame, IN: Ave Maria Press, 1992], p. 105-106

Comments are closed.

